1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. December 2017
  4. Angland tips NSW dynasty in UBET Origin Jockey Series

Angland tips NSW dynasty in UBET Origin Jockey Series

By Glenn Davis

Jockey Tye Angland saves his best for the big stage and is confident NSW can retain the UBET Origin Jockeys Challenge which begins at Doomben on Friday.

Angland and teammate Michael Rodd were part of NSW’s successful Origin Challenge last year and the pair hope to turn the annual event into a dynasty much like Queensland’s dominance in rugby league’s State of Origin series.

Angland will be a key player in the Origin Challenge and has rarely ridden in better form.

The 28-year-old was born in Wantabadgery, a tiny town east of Wagga Wagga in NSW’s Riverina district.

He is best known to Queenslanders after winning his first Group 1 aboard Black Piranha in 2009.

He has since gone on to win a further nine Group 1’s including three in the spring aboard Trapeze Artist in the Golden Rose before the Spring Champion and Victoria Derby aboard the David Payne-trained Ace High.

“I really enjoy the Origin concept, it’s different” Angland said.

“There’s a lot more banter in the jockeys’ room and behind the barriers.

“This year’s series has a lot more hype to it being over three days over one weekend and with a lot more jockeys involved.

“I’m quietly confident NSW can win the series again but it all comes down to the quality of horse you draw.

“I’m confident in my ability that NSW can do it again.”

While Angland regards himself a “Blue”, he admitted he once followed the Broncos and Queensland.

“I used to be a big fan of Wendell Sailor and the Broncos when I was about eight but I soon realised that being born and bred in NSW you have to follow the Blues,” he said.

NSW has been installed favourites by UBET to claim this year’s Origin Challenge which will be run at Doomben on Friday and Saturday with the final day at the Sunshine Coast on Sunday.

Two heats will be conducted each day.

The teams are: NSW (Michael Rodd, Tye Angland), New Zealand (Damian Browne, Larry Cassidy), Queensland (Jim Byrne, Matt McGillivray), South Australia (Dwayne Dunn, Jamie Kah), Tasmania (Craig Newitt, Brendon McCoull), Victoria (Luke Nolen, Clare Lindon), All Stars (Robbie Fradd, Mark Du Plessis).

Racing Queensland webnews  December 6