1. Home
  2. Thoroughbred Industry
  3. 2018 Battle of the Bush Series

2018 Battle of the Bush Series



2018 battle of the bush 

Racing Queensland's inaugural Battle of the Bush Series will bring the spirit of country racing alive during the 2018 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival. 

Sixteen qualifiers will be held across eight country regions, with a rich $100,000 final to be held on Tattersall's Tiara Day at Doomben, on June 23.  

about the series: 

  • All placegetters (1st, 2nd, 3rd) in each qualifier are deemed to be automatically nominated for the $100,000 final at Doomben.
  • The final will be a Restricted 0MW Quality Handicap over 1200m
  • To enter, horses must have competed in at least five non-TAB races in Queensland in the 12 months immediately preceding the acceptance date of that qualifier. 
  • Racing Queensland will offer float subsidies for qualifying trainers of up to $2000 to help cover the cost of the journey to Brisbane for the final. 
  • Series conditions here

about the clubs

The Battle of the Bush will put 16 of Queensland's country clubs in the spotlight during the Winter Carnival. 

Racing is a way of life for people living in country and regional Queensland, and I welcome any new idea which aim to shine the spotlight on the hard-working participants that exist within these regions.

2018-19 Race Dates