Go to Mobile Site >>>

Sunday, 29 March 2015

2013 Queensland Winter Racing Carnival Group 1 nominees confirmed

Friday, May 03, 2013 10:50 AM



Group racing this Queensland Winter Racing Carnival looks set to reach new heights following confirmation of first late nominations for the Group 1s, headlined by Queensland’s premier race, the AAMI Stradbroke Handicap.


2013 nominations closed today at 11:00am for the seven Group 1 races scheduled over the next five weeks of the Brisbane Racing Carnival, significantly up on 2012 nominations.


The Group 1 Tattersall’s Tiara nominations will close on June 17.


The AAMI Stradbroke Handicap boasts a strong list of 140 well-credentialed nominees, all chasing the boosted $1 million to the winner prize recently announced by Racing Queensland (RQ).


Headlining the nominations is triple-Group 1 winning mare Sea Siren, Rain Affair and Queensland’s own Buffering, Sizzling and Solzhenitsyn.


Other quality mares hoping to follow in the footsteps of 2012 winner Mid Summer Music, are Secret Admirer, Streama, Skyerush, Ortensia, Arinosa and Steps in Time.


The Brisbane Racing Carnival commences on Saturday May 11 at Eagle Farm with the first of the Group 1 events, the Bundaberg Distilling Co. BTC Cup. The weight-for-age 1200m journey received 25 nominations.


Locals Spirit of Boom, Temple of Boom and Better Than Ready are set to contest the sprint alongside 2012 Queensland Horse of the Year Buffering, still yet to crack the Group 1 drought.


The Kirks Doomben Cup, scheduled for May 18 received 40 nominations. The Carlton Mid Doomben 10,000 received 65 nominations including popular Group 1 winners Rangirandoo, Manawanui, Moment of Change and Epaulette.


June 1 is Queensland Oaks Day and the popular three-year-old fillies race received 69 nominations including VRC Crown Oaks winner and runner up in the ATC Oaks, Dear Demi.


Also receiving an incredible list of 122 nominations is the Channel Seven Queensland Derby on June 8.


The Patinack Farm J.J. Atkins set weights 1600m race, formerly known at the T.J. Smith also received 85 nominations.


A full list of nominations can be viewed at www.risa.com.au or below:


(As of May 6, 2013)

Derby Ballot: /media/45169/derby_ballot_order.pdf

Oaks Ballot: /media/45166/oaks_ballot.pdf

Doomben 10000: /media/45163/doomben_10000.pdf

Doomben Cup: /media/45160/doomben_cup.pdf

BTC Cup: /media/45157/btc_cup.pdf







View All Media Releases

Brisbane Racing Club Gold Coast Turf Club Sunshine Coast Turf Club Ipswich Turf Club Toowoomba Twilight Racing Tattersalls Racing Club
Rockhampton Jockey Club Townsville Turf Club Cairns Jockey Club Cairns Amateurs Mackay Turf Club Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club
Ipswich Greyhound Racing Club Rockhampton Greyhound Racing Club Townsville Greyhound Racing Club Albion Park Harness Racing Club Gold Coast Harness Racing Club Redcliffe Harness Racing Club