1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. April 2018
  4. McAlpine nominated for Stud and Stable Award after record nominations

McAlpine nominated for Stud and Stable Award after record nominations

Queensland's Angus McAlpine of Eureka Stud has been nominated for a Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Award, which recognises and rewards the hard work of the industry's workers across Australia. 

McAlpine, 24, has been nominated for his dedication to breeding, alongside Coolmore Stud's Patrick Sheehan. 

McAlpine is in the running to win a $10,000 cash prize, and a further $3000 to be shared among the staff at Eureka. The stud has enjoyed a season to remember, largely thanks to first-season sire Spirit Of Boom's success on the track, and in the sale ring. 

The finalists in the 2018 Godolphin Stud and Stable Staff Awards have been selected from a record field of 300 nominations.

After much debate and consideration, the judging panel, led by South Australia’s chief stipendiary steward Johan Petzer, settled on 14 worthy finalists from whom the seven winners will be chosen.

“The GSSSA, now in its fourth year, is a fantastic initiative supported by Godolphin, Racing Australia and Thoroughbred Breeders Australia, and provides great encouragement for, and rewards the talent of, the participants in our vibrant racing and breeding industry,” Petzer said.

“The judging panel continues to be impressed by the outstanding quality of the nominations. There is no doubt the quality of the nominees in 2018 is impressive, which makes the task of determining the winners a difficult one for the panel,” he added.

The winners, plus the overall Thoroughbred Excellence Award winner will be named at the official Stud and Stable Staff Awards Ceremony at Morphettville Racecourse on Friday, 4 May.

The finalists in each category are:

Leadership – Peter Keating, Newgate Farm, NSW, and Jade Rossington, Willow Park Stud, NSW.
Horsemanship – Warren Sutton, McEvoy Mitchell Racing, South Australia, and Scott Eeles, Godolphin, NSW.

Dedication To Breeding – Angus McAlpine, Eureka Cambooya Stud, and Patrick Sheehan, Coolmore Stud, NSW.

Dedication To Racing – Joe Agresta, Malua Racing, Victoria, and Steve Adams, Anthony Freedman Racing, Victoria.

Administration – Michelle Nichols, Arrowfield Stud, NSW, and Hannah Dick, Widden Stud, NSW.

Thoroughbred Care and Welfare – Lee Purchase, Darren Weir Racing, Victoria, and Liz Andriske, Saleyard Thoroughbreds, Victoria.

Newcomer – Jarom Rhind, Armidale Stud, Tasmania, and Meg Stanley, Kathryn Durden Racing, Victoria.