1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. April 2019
  4. RQ Board appointments

RQ Board appointments

Racing Minister Stirling Hinchliffe has unveiled a new-look Racing Queensland Board.

Implementing the Palaszczuk Government’s racing reform agenda will continue to be the focus of the RQ Board, which includes at least one new face from 1 May.

Mr Hinchliffe said the RQ Board would combine experience and continuity with fresh talent.

“Queensland racing is entering an exciting new era as the government presses ahead with a reform agenda to create a more commercially focused industry,” he said.

“RQ’s new-look board will implement a series of new reforms to build on the integrity, prizemoney and country racing reforms we’ve already implemented.

“Five of the seven board members will continue their roles, including Chair Steve Wilson who has shown strong leadership during his three years in the role.

“The board will also include fresh new talent, including corporate and commercial lawyer Jane Seawright, who joins RQ as a non-industry board member.

“Her strong skills in law, governance, strategy and strategic relationship management will be great assets for RQ, along with her strong links to North Queensland.

“In coming weeks a new thoroughbred representative will be appointed, as we move to fill a vacancy following the departure of Mark Sowerby.

“I want to pay tribute to Mark Sowerby and fellow outgoing RQ board member Susannah George for their contributions to Queensland racing.

“Both have served RQ well and helped to steer Queensland racing on a path for greater growth and prosperity.”

Racing Queensland Board appointments (effective from 1 May):

  • Mr Steve Wilson AM (Chairperson) for a term of three years;
  • Ms Sharon Dawson (Deputy Chairperson) and non-industry member for a period of two years;
  • Mr Max Walters OAM (non-industry member) for a period of two years;
  • Ms Jane Seawright (non-industry member) for a period of three years;
  • Mr Dale Cartwright (greyhound representative) for a period of two years; and
  • Ms Margaret Reynolds (harness representative) for a period of two years.

Mr Hinchliffe said Queensland Racing Integrity Commissioner Ross Barnett had also been appointed for a new three-year term, effective 1 July.

“Under Ross Barnett’s leadership, QRIC has been at the forefront of implementing integrity reform in Queensland racing,” he said.

“The Palaszczuk Government will continue to seek stronger animal welfare and integrity measures in racing and will work with QRIC to achieve this.”