1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. December 2018
  4. Victoria hopes to draw first blood in TAB Origin Jockeys Series on Friday.

Victoria hopes to draw first blood in TAB Origin Jockeys Series on Friday.

By Glenn Davis

Victoria will be hoping to draw first blood when it begins its title defence of the TAB Origin Jockeys Series which gets underway at Doomben on Friday.

The TAB Origin Jockey Series will bring some of Australia's best jockeys to Brisbane over two action-packed days on Friday and Saturday.

This year the series comprises five races with three races conducted on Friday and two on Saturday.

Victoria won last year’s series with Luke Nolen and Clare Lindop but Melbourne Cup winning jockey Brett Prebble has been called up to replace the retired Lindop this year.

Prebble has been booked for the Rob Heathcote-trained Lucky Captain in the series opener in the Class Two Plate (2240m) while Nolen partners Ben Currie’s Hierarchal.

Prebble, who recently returned to Australia following a successful stint in Hong Kong, will also be aboard Omenica for Chris Waller while Nolen rides last start winner Iron Dome for Michael Costa in the second heat in the Class One Plate (1350m).

Prebble’ third ride of the series on day one is the Tony Gollan-trained Don’t You Know Him in the Class Two Plate (1200m) while Nolen partners the Michael Lakey-trained Enterprise March.

NSW will be represented by another Melbourne Cup winning rider Corey Brown and Brisbane hoop Brad Stewart who was born in the Northern Rivers.

NSW was to be represented by Tye Angland who is in hospital in Hong Kong following a fall.

Brown will kick off NSW’s bid to claim the Origin Jockeys Series aboard The Barracuda in the Class Two Plate while teammate Stewart rides Yankee Tango for Caloundra trainer Stu Kendrick.

Queensland has retained last year’s team with Jim Byrne and Matt McGillivray representing the Maroons while New Zealand's leading Sydney-based rider Jason Collett has been called up to represent the Kiwis alongside Damian Browne.

Byrne’s three rides are aboard It’s Choux Time (Class Two Plate), Heavenly Archer (Class One Plate) and Crystal Amor (Class One Plate) while McGillivray partners Percival Pott, Surprise Bullet and Lacey Lynx Pack.

Tasmania has its 2017 line up comprising Craig Newitt and Brendon McCoull, as does South Australia with Dwayne Dunn and Jamie Kah.

Racing Queensland webnews   December 5