1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. January 2020
  4. Queenslanders awarded OAMs

Queenslanders awarded OAMs

By Andrew Adermann

Queensland racing identities Neville Bell, John McCoy and Denise Hanly have been recognised in this year’s Australia Day honours with the trio each awarded an Order of Australia Medal.

The Queenslanders were acknowledged for their service to the racing industry and respective communities over a number of years.

Bell has been the Brisbane Racing Club Chairman since 2012, and was an original member of the board when the Queensland Turf Club and Brisbane Turf Club merged in 2008.

Bell was honoured for both his contribution to racing as well as his service to the community of Caboolture, where he has run the Kilto Park Stud for more than 30 years.

McCoy has been the voice of Queensland sport for more than half a century, and for the past 16 years has been heard on Radio TAB’s Breakfast Show with co-hosts Peter Psaltis and Paul Sawtell.

‘Macca’ kicked off his broadcasting career in 1966 at 4LM in Mt Isa, and moved on to 4BC in 1971 where he was mentored by legendary race-caller Vince Curry.

At 4BC he went on to call everything from rugby league to the Commonwealth Games, before taking up a breakfast presenter role at RadioTAB covering everything sports.  

McCoy recently announced his retirement from sports broadcasting, however he will still have a keen interest in the races through the Tony Gollan trained gelding Capital Connection, of which his wife Carmel is a part-owner.

Hanly was awarded an OAM for her services to the community of Ipswich, where she is a committee member of the Ipswich Turf Club.

Hanly’s appointment was history making, being the first female in the club’s 160-year history to be voted onto the committee. 

Racing Queensland CEO Brendan Parnell was pleased to see industry participants acknowledged in the Australia Day honours list.

“The three OAM recipients have been strong advocates for our industry over many years,” Mr Parnell said.

“On behalf of Racing Queensland, I would like to again congratulate Neville, John and Denise on receiving this honour and for their ongoing contribution to the racing industry in this state.”