1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. November 2018
  4. Stars of Australian racing set for TAB Origin Series

Stars of Australian racing set for TAB Origin Series

For the fourth consecutive year the TAB Origin Jockey Series will bring some Australia’s best jockeys to Brisbane over two action-packed days at Doomben (December 7-8).

With three Melbourne Cups and almost 200 Group 1 wins between them, the field for this year’s series is arguably the best ever assembled.

Racing Queensland Chief Operating Officer Adam Wallish said the Origin Jockey Series was one of the highlights of the 2018 TAB Queensland Summer Racing Carnival.

“Jockeys are competitive at the best of times but when state pride goes on the line, we see that competitiveness rise to a whole new level,” Mr Wallish said.

“The series not only brings together some of the greatest jockeys of the modern era, it gives some of racing’s up-and-coming stars a chance to test their skills against experienced campaigners.” 

Luke Nolen’s Victoria will be out to defend its title with the help of Melbourne Cup-winning jockey Brett Prebble, following the retirement of Clare Lindop earlier this season. New South Wales will be bolstered by the inclusion of Corey Brown, while Queensland has stuck solid with Jim Byrne and Matt McGillivray to don the maroon.

Unfortunately, Tye Angland will no longer take part in the series as he recovers from a fall while riding in Hong Kong at the weekend. Brisbane-based rider Brad Stewart will ride on Angland’s behalf in the series.

“Tye has been a wonderful ambassador for the Origin series and on behalf of all at Racing Queensland I would like to wish him a full and speedy recovery,” Mr Wallish said.

Tasmania retains its 2017 line up comprising Craig Newitt and Brendon McCoull, as does South Australia with Dwayne Dunn and Jamie Kah. New Zealand young-gun and leading Sydney based rider Jason Collett has been called up to represent the Kiwis alongside Damian Browne.


This year the series comprises five races across two days (three on Friday, two on Saturday), with enhanced stakes and carefully selected races chosen in an attempt to attract full fields.

The teams listed below are subject to change pending any injuries or suspensions incurred between the time of publication and the series commencing.



New South Wales

Corey Brown, 42

Career Highlights – 2 x Melbourne Cup winner (2009, 2017)

Brad Stewart, 40

Career Highlights – Queensland Champion Apprentice (1998), Winter Stakes (2005).



Luke Nolen, 38

Career Highlights – Rode Black Caviar to 22 of her 25 wins which included 14 at Group 1 level. 

Brett Prebble, 41

Career Highlight – Melbourne Cup (2012)



Jim Byrne, 47

Career Highlights – Stradbroke Handicap (1999), Doomben 10,000 (2017)

Matthew McGillivray, 26

Career Highlights – Ramornie Handicap (2018), Chairman’s Handicap (2018)


New Zealand

Jason Collett, 27

Career Highlight – Hobartville Stakes (2017)

Damian Browne, 45

Career Highlights – Al Quoz Sprint (2016), Winterbottom Stakes (2015), Kingsford-Smith Cup (2018)


South Australia

Dwayne Dunn, 45

Career Highlights – Stradbroke Handicap (2016), Blue Diamond Stakes (2005-08), Caulfield Cup (2006)

Jamie Kah, 22

Career Highlights – Sandown Stakes (2017), Most Wins in an Australian season by a female jockey.



Craig Newitt, 33

Career Highlights – Blue Diamond Stakes (2012 & 2016), T J Smith Classic (2014)

Brendon McCoull, 44

Career Highlights – Tasmanian Guineas (2015), 14 Tasmanian Jockey Premierships