1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. September 2019
  4. 2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Finalists

2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Finalists

Racing Queensland has unveiled the finalists ahead of the 2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards at the Sofitel Brisbane Central.

Staged on Sunday, September 22, the Thoroughbred Awards are of the highlights on the racing calendar, with RQ set to acknowledge the best of the best over the past year, along with five inductees into the Hall of Fame.

Horse of the Year trophies will be awarded across a number of categories including the TAB Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year Award.

For the first time, RQ has introduced the Student of the Year Award to acknowledge the apprentice that demonstrates the most outstanding dedication in the Certificate IV in Racing (Jockey).

In total, 25 trophies will be awarded including Trainer, Jockey and Apprentice of the Year.

“The Thoroughbred Awards is a night not to miss,” RQ CEO Brendan Parnell said.

“This year we will acknowledge some extraordinary equine and human heroes - along with five thoroughly deserving Hall of Fame recipients - and I would encourage everyone with an interest in racing to attend and to help celebrate the 2018/19 racing season.”

Racing Minister Stirling Hinchliffe said the Palaszczuk Government recognised the importance of the thoroughbred racing industry across the state.

“We’ve backed that by increasing prize money in the major markets and setting up the four-year, $70 million Country Racing Package, which has been fantastic for all our country meets,” he said.

“This is going to be a night to celebrate this industry and the really positive impact it’s having for everyone involved, from the punters to the jockeys, the trainers and, of course, the horses.”

In the Two-Year-Old Horse of the Year, Garibaldi, Gem of Scotland, The Odyssey and Vincere Volare have been short-listed as finalists.

The Three-Year-Old Horse of the Year category looks incredibly strong with the unbeaten Zoustyle vying with Winning Ways, Queensland’s only Group One winner of the season, Boomsara, who tasted victory at the Magic Millions, and Baccarat Baby, a dominant last-start winner at the Group 3 Sunshine Coast Guineas.

Having won the Listed Goldmarket Handicap and the Group 3 BRC Sprint – as well as finishing second in the Stradbroke Handicap - Tyzone is among the finalists in the Four Years and Older category, alongside Houtzen, who placed at Group level in Australia and the UK, and Winter Bride, who enjoyed black-type success at Caulfield and Randwick.

In the Trainer of the Year Award, Metropolitan Premiership winner Tony Gollan will contend with Toby Edmonds, David Vandyke and Chris Waller.

Finally, the recently retired Jeff Lloyd will look to bow out with one final win after being named as a finalist alongside Michael Cahill, Matthew McGillivray and Justin Stanley in the Jockey of the Year Award.

Click here for further information or to purchase tickets to the 2019 TAB Queensland Thoroughbred Awards.

2019 Thoroughbred Awards Finalists


Queensland Jockey of the Year

  • Michael Cahill
  • Jeff Lloyd
  • Matthew McGillivray
  • Justin Stanley

Queensland Trainer of the Year

  • Toby Edmonds
  • Tony Gollan
  • David Vandyke
  • Chris Waller

Queensland Apprentice of the Year

  • Jag Guthmann-Chester
  • Jackson Murphy
  • Michael Murphy
  • Baylee Nothdurft

4YO and Older Horse of the Year

  • Houtzen
  • Tyzone
  • Winter Bride

3YO Horse of the Year

  • Baccarat Baby
  • Boomsara
  • Winning Ways
  • Zoustyle

2YO horse of the Year

  • Garibaldi
  • Gem of Scotland
  • The Odyssey
  • Vincere Volare

Queensland Student of the Year

  • Hannah Phillips
  • Hannah English
  • Jed Hodge


Horses of the Year

  • QTIS Horse of the Year (Prizemoney)
  • Queensland Horse of the Year


  • Queensland Broodmare of the Year
  • Queensland Stallion of the Year
  • Champion First Season Stallion
  • Champion 2YO Stallion

Apprentice Awards

  • Country Apprentice of the Year
  • Provincial Apprentice of the Year
  • Metropolitan Apprentice of the Year


  • Country Premiership Jockey
  • Country Premiership Trainer
  • Country Premiership Horse of the Year
  • Provincial Premiership Jockey
  • Provincial Premiership Trainer
  • Provincial Premiership Horse of the Year
  • Metropolitan Premiership Jockey
  • Metropolitan Premiership Trainer
  • Stewards Award

Hall of Fame

  • Jockey
  • Trainer
  • Associate
  • Horse