Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
  1. Home
  2. News
  3. March 2019
  4. 2018 TAB Greyhound of the Year Announced

2018 TAB Greyhound of the Year Announced

Group 1 Brisbane Cup winner Hasten Slowly was named the TAB Queensland Greyhound of the Year last night at the Kedron-Wavell Services Club.

Hasten Slowly is prepared by former Queensland trainer Angela Langton, who was on hand to accept the prestigious title at the 2019 TAB Queensland Greyhound Awards.

Hasten Slowly raced 35 times for 12 wins and 16 placings in 2018. Four of those wins came at Albion Park, where he saluted in the Brisbane Cup and Group 3 Flying Amy Classic after placing in the Group 1 Winter Cup Final.

In total, 25 awards were presented on the night, which acknowledged the remarkable achievements of greyhound racing participants across the state throughout 2018.

Racing Queensland CEO Brendan Parnell said 2018 had been another successful year for the sport, which included the introduction of the TAB Origin Greyhound Series and major prize money increases.

“Greyhound racing has gone ahead in leaps and bounds and I wish to congratulate all stakeholders for working collectively to grow the sport in Queensland over the past 12 months,” Mr Parnell said.

“RQ will continue to work closely with our wagering partners and major sponsors of this event, TAB, to realise further benefits for the code.”

Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club CEO Luke Gatehouse congratulated all winners on the night, including Brisbane trainer of the Year Steven Scott and the connections of Brisbane Greyhound of the Year, Cosmo Bill.

“On behalf of all at the Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club I would like to congratulate all winners and thank event major sponsors, TAB, for their continued commitment to greyhound racing,” he said.

Racing Queensland wishes to thank all sponsors of the 2019 TAB Queensland Greyhound Awards including; Brisbane Greyhound Racing Club, Garrard’s, Chase Newspaper, Eleanor Wallis, Sky Racing, the Queensland Racing Integrity Commission and Darryl and Maree Heck.

Please turn the page to view a full list of Award Winners.






Brisbane Greyhound of the Year

Cosmo Bill

Bundaberg Greyhound of the Year

Foxy Fireball

Cairns Greyhound of the Year

Sharhelian Star

Capalaba Greyhound of the Year

Jeannie Dreaming

Ipswich Greyhound of the Year

Snowball Otto

Rockhampton Greyhound of the Year


Townsville Greyhound of the Year

Innocent Man

Brisbane Trainer of the Year

Steven Scott

Bundaberg Trainer of the Year

Louise Cameron

Cairns Trainer of the Year

Emma Bryant

Capalaba Trainer of the Year

Claude Dacey

Ipswich Trainer of the Year

Colin Byers

Rockhampton Trainer of the Year

William Boon

Townsville Trainer of the Year

Rhonda Essery

Top Simbi Award

Capalaba Greyhound Racing Club

Young Achiever

John Hutchinson

Woman in Racing

Erin Cameron

Hall of Fame

Clem Jones AO

Hall of Fame

Rustic Venture

2018 Queensland Greyhound of the Year

Hasten Slowly

2018 Greyhound of the Year - Finalist

Hasten Slowly

2018 Greyhound of the Year - Finalist

Champagne Sally

2018 Greyhound of the Year - Finalist

Cosmic Bonus

2018 Greyhound of the Year - Finalist

Del Rey

QRIC Award

Mary Burman

Brisbane Trainers Strike Rate Award

Errol Suell

Brisbane Sire of the year

Magic Sprite

Brisbane Leading Owner Award

Cynthia Elson

Brisbane Dam of the year

Regal Silver