1. Home
  2. Racing & Results
  3. Featured Events
  4. August 2019
  5. National Straight Track Championship

National Straight Track Championship

Capalaba Greyhound Racing Club, Old Cleveland Road, Capalaba

Contact The Club For More Information


Racing Queensland is delighted to announce its membership in the inaugural National Straight Track Championship involving Queensland (Capalaba), Victoria (Healesville), and South Australia (Murray Bridge), to be held in July and August 2019.

The format for the 2019 event will consist of greyhounds progressing from heats and semi-finals in each state. The final will consist of three representatives from Queensland, three representatives from South Australia, and two representatives (plus two reserves) from Victoria.

The Queensland heats will be conducted at Capalaba on Sunday 28 July, with the semi-finals on 4 August 2019. The Queensland semi-final will be worth total prizemoney of $7,505 (1st $5,000, 2nd $1,430, 3rd $715, 4th $360), plus a $1000 trainer bonus for the first three placegetters.

The National Straight Track Championship final will be held at Healesville on Sunday 18 August with total prizemoney of $35,500 ($25,000 to the winner). For the inaugural event GRV will implement bonus prizemoney of $14,500 to be distributed throughout first, second, and third place. The winner will also be awarded entry into the Group 3 Healesville Cup heats.

To be eligible for the Queensland heats the greyhound must have been domiciled in Queensland since 28 April 2019.

The aim is for the event to be conducted in a different state each year, with other states welcome to join should they open a straight track in the future.

Racing Queensland strongly supports straight track racing and believes that the National format is another important milestone in the ongoing elevation of the racing form.


Inaugural National Straight Track Championship

Excerpts from article dated Friday, 12 July, 2019, by Greyhound Racing Victoria


Australia’s first ever National Straight Track Championship for greyhounds will take place over late July and early August in Victoria, Queensland and South Australia, with the Healesville Greyhound Association hosting the Grand Final on 18 August 2019.


Queensland’s Capalaba Greyhound Racing Club, the Murray Bridge Greyhound Racing Club in South Australia and Victoria’s Healesville Greyhound Association will each host state heats and finals with the top three placings from the QLD and SA Finals joining Victoria’s 1st and 2nd place getters to race for the National title.


In November 2018, Racing Queensland converted Capalaba to a TAB venue and elevated the Capalaba Cup to Group 3 level prize money.

“The National Straight Track Championship strengthens the presence of straight track racing in the national calendar as a safe and exciting form of racing,” Brenton Scott, Greyhound Strategy and Development Manager for Racing Queensland said.

“Queensland looks forward to participating in the inaugural event, and the opportunity to host in the years to come.”

Like the National Sprint and Distance Championships, the National Straight Track Championship will annually rotate between different states with Capalaba to host the 2020 Grand Final followed by Murray Bridge in 2021.


The information set out on this event page is correct as at the date of publication and may be subject to further change by Racing Queensland or the event promoter (if Racing Queensland is not the event promoter) in their absolute discretion. Please visit http://www.racingqueensland.com.au/ for the current race calendars. Please check race schedules for final times two days before, race numbers are not final.


Website | Facebook



Queensland – Capalaba Greyhound Racing Club

Heats: 28 July 2019. State Final: 4 August 2019

Winner:  $5,000   2nd:  $1,430   3rd:  $715

South Australia- Murray Bridge Greyhound Racing Club

Heats: 31 July 2019. State Final: 7 August 2019

Winner:  $5,000   2nd:  $1,430   3rd:  $715

Victoria- Healesville Greyhound Association

Heats: 4 August 2019. State Final and interstate exhibition trials: 11 August 2019.
Winner:  $5,000   2nd:  $1,430   3rd:  $715

Grand Final: 18 August 2019 at Healesville, Victoria.


Stay connected