Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Racing Queensland Board appointments announced

26 April 2024

Share this page

Share on a platform

Or copy the page link

Racing Minister Grace Grace has today welcomed the new Racing Queensland Board, which includes six reappointments and one new addition.

Minister Grace praised the Board as having the vision and expertise to take racing in Queensland to a whole new level.

In a signal of continuity, Steve Wilson AM has been re-appointed for a one-year term as Chair of RQ, while Jane Seawright has been appointed as the Deputy Chair for a three-year term.

Gold Coast businesswoman Rebecca Frizelle OAM is the new addition to the RQ Board, bringing her expertise across business and sport to help grow the Queensland racing industry and deliver critical infrastructure projects.

Ms Frizelle replaces Sharon Dawson, who had earlier indicated that she did not wish to be re-appointed, after eight years of dedicated service as Deputy Chair of RQ.

“The RQ Board is made up of a group of individuals passionate about racing, with the commercial acumen, strategic vision and expertise to take racing to a whole new level,” Minister Grace said.

“Steve Wilson AM and Dale Cartwright have been re-appointed for one year, to balance the need for Board continuity and coincide with the delivery of major infrastructure projects.

“This includes the redevelopment of the Gold Coast Turf Club, along with the establishment of the new world-class greyhound racing venue near Ipswich, The Q.

“This approach reflects Queensland Audit Office advice for all statutory Boards to review and refresh membership to maintain independence and generate new ideas and fresh perspectives.

“Rebecca Frizelle is an outstanding appointment to the Board and brings a diverse range of experiences as a leader across business, sport and academia to help grow the racing industry.”

RQ thanks Sharon Dawson for her dedicated service as Deputy Chair and congratulates the directors on their respective appointments.

L-R: Graham Quirk, outgoing Deputy Chair Sharon Dawson, Dale Cartwright, Jane Seawright, Jodie Jones, Chair Steve Wilson AM