1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. February 2018
  4. Three finalists named for 2017 Queensland Greyhound of the Year

Three finalists named for 2017 Queensland Greyhound of the Year

The Three finalists for the 2017 Queensland Greyhound of the Year award have been announced after a meeting of the code’s Industry Awards Panel.

The three finalists, in alphabetical order, are:

Fast Times – Tony Brett

Jury – Tony Brett

Outside Pass – Tony Apap

To be eligible each greyhound has to have started in six Queensland races during the 2017 calendar year. The dogs are judged on a range of criteria to determine performance in group, feature and metropolitan classes.

Fast Times, owned by Terry Hill and trained by Tony Brett, burst onto the scene in early 2017 with a scintillating 30.06 second victory over 520 metres at Ipswich, at only start number four.

Following this performance, Fast Times never looked back and capped off 2017 as a dual Group 1 winner, taking out the 2017 Garrard’s Winter Cup and the 2017 Sky Racing Brisbane Cup over 520 metres at Albion Park.

Other notable achievements included a second placing in the 2017 Richmond Riches Series behind Mister Twister and qualifying for the 2017 Group 1 Maturity Classic final at The Meadows before being withdrawn due to injury.

Another Tony Brett-trained chaser in Jury was lightly-raced in 2017 but made his presence felt on arguably the biggest stage in greyhound racing, winning the 2017 UBET National Sprint Championship at Albion Park over 520 metres.

The son of Cosmic Chief and Velocity Sheba also recorded an all-the-way victory in the Group 2 Lismore Cup over 520 metres in October 2017 to take his career earnings past $170,000.

The rising five year old Outside Pass, owned by the ‘That Will Do Me Syndicate’ and trained by Tony Apap, is one of the Queensland’s favourite greyhounds and again produced an ultra-consistent year on the track in 2017. Outside Pass kicked off 2017 with a 4th placing in the Group 2 Maitland Cup and backed that performance up with another 4th placing in the Group 1 Garrard’s Winter Cup behind Fast Times before embarking on a staying campaign.

This decision proved fruitful for connections and showed the quality and versatility of Outside Pass, as she breezed through the State qualifiers of the National Distance Championship before finishing a gallant 4th behind superstar Fanta Bale in the Group 1 final in late August.

Outside Pass went on to win her first Group race of her career by taking out the 2017 Group 3 Ipswich Gold Cup over 520 metres.

Racing Queensland CEO Dr Eliot Forbes said the three finalists are an indication of the quality of greyhound racing in Queensland.

“It has been an impressive year for greyhound racing in Queensland which is evidenced by these wonderful performances. We have exciting plans for greyhound racing in this state which we believe will see the code grow from strength to strength,” he said.

The winner of the Greyhound of the Year award will be announced at the 2017 Queensland Greyhound Industry Awards night to be held at Kedron Wavell Services Club on 23 March 2018.

GRINNERS: Former NRL star Terry Hill and trainer Tony Brett celebrate their G1 win with Fast Times.

Albion Park

UBET National Sprint Championship (G1) F 520m

SUPER: Jury takes out the G1 UBET National Sprint Final at Albion Park in front of a massive crowd.

Albion Park

SKY RACING Brisbane Cup Bne 520 (G1) F 520m

STARS: Trainer Tony Apap with G3 Ipswich Cup winner Outside Pass.


Ipswich Cup Ips 520 (G3) F 520m