1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. November 2017
  4. Star line up announced ahead of 2017 UBET Origin Jockey Series

Star line up announced ahead of 2017 UBET Origin Jockey Series

Two new teams and fourteen of the world’s most talented athletes will do battle across three days from December 8-10, when the UBET Origin Jockey Series returns to Queensland for its third season.  

This year the series will be staged across three consecutive days of action-packed racing, starting at the Brisbane Racing Club (Doomben) on Friday, December 8. 

The action returns to Doomben on Saturday, December 9, for metropolitan racing, before heading north to the picturesque Sunshine Coast Turf Club on Sunday, December 10.

The UBET Origin Jockey Series will bring together the finest jockeys in the land and aims to show the rest of Australia, and the world, ‘how we do racing’ in Queensland.

This year an All-Stars invitational team, and a Tasmanian team will be represented in the series. They will go head-to-head with hosts Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and New Zealand.

Queensland has opted for a mix of youth and experience to try and claim the title for the first time, selecting Origin veteran Jim Byrne and debutant Matt McGillivray to don maroon in 2017.

“Obviously this is a really good opportunity to ride against some of the best jockeys in Australia,” McGillivray said.

“I am really looking forward to getting out there and testing my skills against these guys.”


Racing Queensland Chief Executive Officer Dr Eliot Forbes said some of the best jockeys in the country had expressed a keen interest in returning to Queensland for the 2017 series.

“The UBET Origin Jockey Series allows Racing Queensland to show how we do racing – which is playing as hard as you can on the track, and letting your hair down and enjoying the Queensland way of life off the track,” Dr Forbes said.

“Some of the biggest names in Australian and world racing have expressed a keen interest in competing in Queensland this year.”


Dr Forbes said the series aimed not just to be an important date on the Queensland racing calendar, but on the national sporting calendar.

“Nothing brings out passion in sport and racing fans like cheering for your home state or country. It is also a tremendous honour for the jockeys selected,” he said.  

“The UBET Origin Jockey Series will showcase the skills of these talented athletes to their home states and countries, with the winner taking home the coveted Waterford Crystal Origin Jockey Trophy.”

Racing Queensland wagering partner, and proud sponsors of the racing industry, UBET, have again thrown their support behind the series.

Stay logged in to www.racingqueensland.com.au for all the latest news on the 2017 UBET Origin Jockey Series.



Jim Byrne

Matt McGillivray


Craig Newitt

Brendon McCoull


Damian Browne

Larry Cassidy


Michael Rodd

Tye Angland


Luke Nolen

Clare Lindop


Dwayne Dunn

Jamie Kah


Robbie Fradd

Mark Du Plessis



Round 1 - Friday, December 8 @ Brisbane Racing Club (Doomben)

Class 2 Plate (Set Weights) – 2200m

Class 1 Plate (Set Weights) – 1350m


Round 2 - Saturday, December 9 @ Brisbane Racing Club (Doomben)

Class 6 Plate (Set Weights) – 2000m

Class 2 Plate (Set Weights) – 1600m


Round 3 – Sunday, December 10 @ Sunshine Coast Turf Club (Caloundra)

Class 3 Plate (Set Weights) – 1400m

Class 1 Plate (Set Weights) – 1200m


2017 UBET Origin Jockey Series Conditions