1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. August 2018
  4. 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Nominees

2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Nominees

A selection of Queensland’s leading racing industry participants and thoroughbreds have been shortlisted to receive awards at the 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred Awards Ceremony in Brisbane on Sunday, September 16.

Horse of the Year trophies will be awarded for two-year-olds, three-year-olds, four years and older, plus the 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year award. In total, 28 trophies will be awarded including trainer, jockey and apprentice of the year.

RQ Chief Executive Officer Brendan Parnell said he looked forward to celebrating the 2017/18 thoroughbred racing season with stakeholders at the Sofitel Brisbane Central, and encouraged all to join in the celebrations.

“Racing is a 24/7 industry which is why it is important to enjoy this night out together to celebrate and reflect on the remarkable achievements of the season past,” Mr Parnell said.

Tickets are on sale now and can be purchased by following the links on the Racing Queensland website - www.racingqueensland.com.au. Tickets for the Thoroughbred Awards Ceremony are available to all industry participants and the general public, however early bookings are essential.

Queensland premier trainer Ben Currie, metropolitan premier trainer Tony Gollan, Robert Heathcote and Toby Edmonds have been nominated for Queensland Trainer of the Year.

Matthew McGillivray has received his first nomination for Queensland Jockey of the Year, but will be up against experienced riders Jeff Lloyd, Robbie Fradd and Jim Byrne.

Jag Guthmann-Chester, Taylor Marshall, Michael Murphy and Boris Thornton are all in the running to claim the prestigious Ken Russell Apprentice Jockey of the Year Award.

The 2018 UBET Queensland Thoroughbred of the Year will be chosen from all nominees across the three equine categories.

As part of the night RQ will induct a number of new names into the Queensland Racing Hall of Fame.

RQ wishes to thank the presenting partner UBET, Sky Racing and Garrard’s as supporting partners, plus all of the businesses who have committed to sponsoring awards.

Nominees will receive their invitations in the coming days.

Please see below for the full list of featured nominees.

Featured Nominees


Queensland Jockey of the Year

Jim Byrne

Robbie Fradd

Jeff Lloyd

Matthew McGillivray

Queensland Trainer of the Year

Ben Currie

Toby Edmonds

Tony Gollan

Robert Heathcote

Queensland Apprentice of the Year

Jag Guthmann-Chester

Taylor Marshall

Michael Murphy

Boris Thornton

4YO and Older Horse of the Year

Crack Me Up


I’m A Rippa

Most Important

Savanna Amour

3YO Horse of the Year

Another Dollar




2YO horse of the Year


Ef Troop

Granny Red Shoes

Outback Barbie



Also awarded on the night will be:

Breeding Awards – Sponsored by Thoroughbred Breeders Queensland

  • Queensland Broodmare of the Year
  • Queensland Stallion of the Year
  • Champion First Season Stallion
  • Champion 2YO Stallion

Premiership Awards

  • Country Premiership Jockey
  • Country Premiership Trainer
  • Provincial Premiership Jockey
  • Provincial Premiership Trainer
  • Metropolitan Premiership Jockey
  • Metropolitan Premiership Trainer
  • Stewards Award

Horses of the Year

  • QTIS Horse of the Year (Prizemoney)
  • Country Horse of the Year
  • Provincial Horse of the Year

Apprentice Awards

  • Country Apprentice of the Year
  • Provincial Apprentice of the Year
  • Metropolitan Apprentice of the year

Hall of Fame

  • Horse
  • Jockey
  • Trainer
  • Associate