1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. March 2020
  4. Jockeys nominate RQ regions

Jockeys nominate RQ regions

Racing Queensland has published the designated regions for the state’s jockeys ahead of tomorrow’s first thoroughbred meeting at the Mackay Turf Club.

Late last week, RQ announced it would be implementing a regional racing model – click here to see the announcement -  which would restrict jockeys to riding in one of five designated regions until further notice.

They are:

  • Metro North (Brisbane and Sunshine Coast);
  • Metro South West (Gold Coast, Ipswich and Toowoomba);
  • Darling Downs and SEQ Coast;
  • Central West and Central; and
  • North West and North.

In the metropolitan regions, jockeys are permitted to ride in Metro North or Metro South West but not both.

Having recently returned from injury, Michael Cahill, who rode a double at Doomben at the weekend, has elected to ride in the Metro South West region and will be joined by leading hoops including Ryan Maloney and Matty McGillivray.

The Metro North region is headlined by star apprentices Baylee Nothdurft and Steph Thornton and also features Robbie Fradd, Jimmy Orman and Brad Stewart.

Jockeys who did not selected a zone were allocated one in accordance with their residential address.

Click here to see the published lists for jockeys and apprentices in Queensland.

Last updated April 29, 2020