1. Home
  2. News & Guides
  3. March 2021
  4. Oh Mickey crowned Greyhound of the Year

Oh Mickey crowned Greyhound of the Year

Recently retired champion Oh Mickey has capped off a stellar career by being crowned the 2020 TAB Queensland Greyhound of the Year.

Trained by Selena Zammit, Oh Mickey established himself as the top dog in Queensland’s sprinting ranks, recording 15 wins and six placings from 29 starts last year.

He also announced himself on the national stage, claiming a two-length victory in the National Derby at Wentworth Park at just his seventh career start, before going on to claim the Group 2 Richmond Derby two months later.

A mainstay in the top races both here and inter-state, Oh Mickey’s dominant year also earned him an invitation to the Group 1 Top Gun Sprinters in November.

Unfortunately, this proved to be the dog’s final race, after a stopper bone injury forced Kratzmann to call time on his fledging career, ending with 18 wins and seven placings from 32 starts, and more than $200,000 in prize money.

“Oh Mickey stamped himself as the dominant chaser in the Sunshine State throughout 2020, and is a deserving winner of the TAB Greyhound of the Year Award,” RQ CEO Brendan Parnell said.

“We have witnessed a number of exceptional performances throughout 2020, and it is fantastic to be able to acknowledge the accomplishments of our participants – both human and canine.

“It has been a year that the industry will not forget, and I wish to thank everyone for their commitment to keep industry going in such unprecedented times.”

In total, Racing Queensland announced more than 20 award winners at Victoria Park, acknowledging the remarkable achievements of greyhound racing participants across the state throughout 2020.

Sennachie has once again claimed the Run of the Year Award, following his dominant 10-length victory in last year’s inaugural Group 1 Gold Bullion, which also saw him go within three one-hundredths of his own track record.

The Outstanding Contribution Award, which was introduced last year to recognise the tireless efforts of volunteers within the industry, was bestowed upon Lorraine Horton from the Bundaberg Greyhound Racing Club.

The evening also saw two Hall of Fame inductees, with legendary Brisbane trainer, Mick O’Byrne, and three-time Group 1 winner, High Earner, the latest members.


2020 TAB Queensland Greyhound Award Winners

  • Queensland Greyhound of the Year – Oh Mickey
  • Brisbane Trainers Strike Rate Award – Mike Stephenson
  • Brisbane Sire of the Year – Fernando Bale
  • Brisbane Leading Owner Award – Cynthia Elson
  • Brisbane Dam of the Year – Cyndie's Magic
  • Brisbane Greyhound of the Year – Big Boy Bruce
  • Bundaberg Greyhound of the Year – Savuro
  • Capalaba Greyhound of the Year – Columbian King
  • Ipswich Greyhound of the Year – Spring Rock
  • Rockhampton Greyhound of the Year – Remember Col
  • Townsville Greyhound of the Year – Segredo
  • Brisbane Trainer of the Year – Cynthia Elson
  • Bundaberg Trainer of the Year – Paul Burgess
  • Capalaba Trainer of the Year – Terry Priest
  • Ipswich Trainer of the Year – Pauline Byers
  • Rockhampton Trainer of the Year – Darren Taylor
  • Townsville Trainer of the Year – Rhonda Essery
  • Young Achiever – Jemma Daley
  • Woman in Racing – Pauline Byers
  • Outstanding Contribution Award – Lorraine Horton
  • Run of the Year – Sennachie
  • QRIC Welfare Award – Jo Wooler
  • Hall of Fame (Person) – Mick O'Byrne
  • Hall of Fame (Greyhound) – High Earner